Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

WOW!

The early morning was glorious with Derewentwater looking calm with just a thin veil of cloud above Catbells. (See additional shot). I was up early, not only because I had to pack my tent up, but I was going on an expedition on the way home.

Those who know me, may realise I am a bit of Geography Geek, which is possibly why I like taking landscape photographs. Every now and then I have experienced what I've started calling Geographical Wow Moments, when I see some really wonderful scenery or a geographical wonder, such as when I visited Kaieteur falls in Guyana, descened into Gapping Ghyll, or saw Gullfoss in Iceland, saw and walked on Glaciers in Iceland (OK, so there were lots of Wow moments in Iceland). 

However, there is one thing that I wanted to see ever since I had seen it on a TV program many years ago, but I had been thwarted by it not really being near a holiday desitnation and too far to go for a day trip. But today I had the opportunity for a slight detour from my homeward journey and pleanty of time to pay a visit. 

The place is High Cup Nick, which is a deep chasm in the North Pennines near the village of Dufton. The Pennine Way actually passes High Cup Nick, and if you approach it from the moorland side, you don't really know it is there until the world disappears beneath your feet.

I approached it from Dufton which meant a 4 mile walk, mostly uphill all the way, and when I got my first glimpse of the chasm from the open end after rounding a corner, I simply stood and stared at the sheer scale of the feature. I can only imagine what it must be like to come across this from the moorland approach and have the world fall away at your feet.

The day was perfect for walking with bright warm sunshine, with a light breeze, although the long distance views were a little hazy. There were some lovely old stone barns on the way up too. (See additional picture)

I had my lunch at the end of High Cup Nick and spent about an hour looking around and taking pictures before heading back down to Dufton, which was much easier and quicker on the return leg. There were two groups of about 10 parasailers catching and riding the thermals above the chasm.

On my way home I called for some excellent Fish and Chips at the Wetherby Whaler.

The blip is from the head of High Cup Nick looking along it out into the Eden Valley. 

Look large against black to see the two people on the edge to get a sense of scale.

I have just blipped this also

The rest of my Lake District pictures can now be seen here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.