Painted Lady and Woodpecker Chick!!!!

A wonderful summery day today with the temperature in the mid 20s! It's definitely the first hot day we've had in ages!

On the way to collecting my Mum from the airport me and TheAphid had a stroll along the sand dunes looking for blip worthy flora and fauna. We saw lots of evening primrose, rock roses and marram grass (see extras). We heard the rustling of lizards and saw skylarks ascending and descending. We did see a few blue butterflies and also Burnett moths but they were impossible to photograph. I did however manage to photograph this Painted Lady in the car park just as we were leaving to get my Mum, whose plane we saw coming into land.

I've been down the track this afternoon and saw a Woodpecker chick peeping out from the tree. It went back in as the parents were shouting at it! I've added it as another extra, not the best quality as I've cropped it but exciting!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.