Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Dinner Time

I find it hard enough to get a decent photo of one Wren so, I'm rather chuffed about getting one feeding it's babies! It's terribly dark.  There are four babies which hide amongst the nettles behind a wall and It would have helped if I had remembered that I had turned my ISO right down for my last photo yesterday. Daft ninny!  I was so taken in trying to get shots that I didn't check other than that I had good speed!  

They had taken over one of the old Swallows nests in the pigsty but the wary little creatures stayed well inside when I tried to get a shot of them on the nest.  They flew down a couple of days ago but weren't going to stay out in the open when I was around. Today I hid myself as well as possible although my sight wasn't ideal.  

The parents, fortunately, didn't see me crouching behind a sheet of corrugated metal and failed to call their offspring away from sight, It gave me a chance to get a few good shots when occasionally they came out onto the wall but they seem to have a prefered spot to feed them. That had to be on the corner of a post in the wrong sty and in a very awkward position to get a clear view.  Getting them in focus was a nightmare!  They are so tiny and the camera kept registering on the nettle leaves and stalks rather than the birds themselves.  

A day without electricity is always enlightening!  You forget how much we take it for granted.  My home phones don't work without it.  I lost count of the times I tried to light the gas with the cookers spark.  I would have spent more time photographing the Wrens if I'd a charged battery. I forgot to charge the spares last night but, I did charge my mobile, which busied itself downloading whatsapp posts and ran out of charge just before lunch. I still haven't learnt how to block internet traffic to save the batteries! 

I've pulled out three wheelbarrows full of nettles and there are still as many to extract. Not clearing the beds saved most of the taller plants from the wind.  I expect a gale together with the forecast rain tomorrow morning!  

Happy girl, tidier garden and photos of Wrens.  I go to work with a smile!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.