Plus ça change...

By SooB

Bugged

I quite like these huge black bees (they're about an inch long) but only when they're more interested in the flowers than me.  Happily this one had plenty of sweet peas to keep it occupied.

This morning I sent an email I've (we've) been pondering for some weeks.  And then I waited for the proverbial to hit the fan.  It hasn't yet.  After lunch I made a deal with myself that I would only check my email every hour, instead of clicking refresh constantly.  

Then I had firm talk to myself to just get things in perspective. 

So I had a little sit in the shade with my book and then spent the rest of the day gardening (ie pulling half a dozen weeds out then running inside for water and cool air).  I'm just in from about an hour of watering and weeding and, of course, providing a tasty early evening snack for the neighbourhood mosquitos.

Earlier, we had a major leap forward in our (my) process of gently encouraging the kids into music while letting it be their idea.  So CarbBoy has a shiny new little guitar (and a fab guitar tuning app) and TallGirl is going to play the saxophone.  I told her it would be far to hard to play and she should try my clarinet instead.  When she found the clarinet too hard (as she has every other time she tried it) SHE persuaded ME to let her try the saxophone (see how I did that...) and loved it.  Though she said it was "too heavy and a bit unpredictable".  I may see if I can hire her a smaller one!

Now to less enjoyable pursuits - that ironing won't do itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.