A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

A doorway to the past.

This is a detailed section of a Nupe door panel, possibly carved by Sakiwa the Younger of Lapai, just one of 3 brought back from Nigeria in the late 60’s by my in-laws after they finished colonial service. 

I have been told by my father-in-law the 3 panels (which make up one door) were bound together with twine, his name chalked on the back (still there) and they were left on the platform of the local train station. The doors then travelled by train, sea and road before ending up in their new home back in the UK, just as they had been left with just the twine around them. 

Today this panel travelled for the first time since and is now in our home, a nice reminder of Mrs S’s childhood. An example of what a Nupe door looks like can be found here.

I haven't had time today to reply or even look at other journals. I was actually digging my allotment at 7.30am this morning and it's been full on ever since. Thanks for all the nice comments you have given my Blips for the past few days, they're most appreciated. ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.