Dodging the waves

The tide was in as we arrived at Seaham, so we walked along the promenade and watched the waves splashing up. Then, as we walked back, the tide was turning and people were arriving to make the most of a sunny late afternoon and evening.

 We had an exciting drive to Newcastle today. We purposely avoided Appleby and the A66, as today was ‘Moving In Day’, the day when all the vehicles and horses that have been loitering on the verges and roads all around the area (this is what the end of our road looked like as I tried to drive home from the station last night) are allowed onto the fields in Appleby, ready for the Fair starting tomorrow. We took to back roads, but unfortunately these are very narrow and we met lots of these. And lots of these. And sometimes a combined effort!!

I apologise for my lengthy ramblings about books yesterday. I wanted to get my thoughts down before the verdict was announced later that evening, so wrote a whatever came into my head whilst waiting for the train and then had to upload it quickly before the train came in. I was very pleased that the judges agreed with me anyway!
   
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.