Flower Friday - Greenhood Orchid

This little terrestrial orchid fulfills a dual purpose today.  First and foremost it's a very special flower for my good Blip Friends BikerBear and Alma.  Of all the people I know at the moment these two are the most deserving of your thoughts and prayers.

Secondly, because it's World Environment Day (so the Rower tells me) it's a very appropriate symbol for all I hold dear.  We are desperately short of undisturbed bush for these delightful flowers - which are all under threat - the Belair National Park is beset by invasive exotic weeds and feral animals, yet the government funding for all environmental issues is being cut. 

I fear that we won't be passing on our world to the next generation in very good shape unless something happens to change political thinking.  There's only so much that volunteers can do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.