Last treat

before going to the hospital. A room in the highrise hotel Empire on the 17th floor with view over the Elbe, a big cruise ship below the new and still under construction building for the Hamburg philharmonic orchestra, called "Elbphilharmonie"
The yellow building at the other side of the Elbe is another big concerthall for Buddy Holly, Lions King and the like. The low round towers with green copper roofs in the foreground are the old harbor towers, where the fisherboats used to land and the entrance to the old tunnel underneath the Elbe still can be visited.
The view out of my window took my breath away in the afternoon when I arrived, later after a very good dinner there I saw the sun setting looking towards Northwest, and at three o'clock I woke up to this dark view that you see in the Extras. I bitterly regretted that I did not bring my real camera, so you have to deal with the noise of my Iphone pics but the view was still so breathtaking that I decided to stay awake and see the sun go up. The next two pictures were around 4 am and 5.30am. All of them taken through not the cleanest thick window panes.
This unique view made me also fall in love with new symbol for this city, The Elbphilharmonie, even if the immense costs for it are highly debated. It is just as unique as the Sydney opera.
Those were great images to take to hospital, where everything seemingly passed well, I feel good, and the only set back is that I have to wait another three days before I get new results from biopsy. But no matter how the outcome will be, I will have to leave this beautiful part of the world the weekend thereafter, as flights are getting scarce and expensive.
A big hug and thank you for all your good wishes and vibrations. I have the feeling that they really helped. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.