Life through the lens...

By ValC

Ledston Luck

After a dentist appointment, in Castleford, we went to find another Yorkshire Wildlife Trust site.
Ledston Luck, is a former pit site.
The pit was sunk in the 1870's and closed in 1986, when many of the miners then moved to the "New" Selby coalfield.
As usual it took some finding!   Even the locals don't know it is there!
So we had the place to ourselves. Wonderful, and peaceful.
It has been up to 26c today, and the dragonflies, and damselflies loved it.
There were lots of vivid emerald damselflies darting hither and thither, but I wasn't fast enough with my camera to get a good shot.
However I did manage a reasonable shot of a Four Spotted Chaser dragonfly. ( see photo in collage) Not a good photo I'm afraid, as it was well camouflaged, and the sun was so bright.
Lovely to walk through the dappled shade of the wood, where it was nice and cool.
The yellow iris were just coming into flower round the lake.
However among the many different varieties of wild flowers were one of my favourite,  The Common Spotted Orchid. Always gives me a thrill when I see one, and here there were dozens!
So once again decided on a collage, so in years to come, I can remember all the best parts of the walk through this beautiful place.

( We didn't need anything doing at the dentists, just a clean and polish! Thank goodness!)

Finger crossed this weather will last over the weekend, and into next week, as we have a short break coming up on Monday!

Hope you all have a wonderful sunny weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.