StroudWomble

By StroudWomble

Gertrude

Today marks the 15th anniversary since my wonderful Mum left us. It was at the end of a 2 year (ish) battle, she was incredible in the way she dealt with it. On the day she was diagnosed with terminal cancer (57 years old) I thought she was going to die that night, she withdrew into herself and even apologised to me for the fact that she was going. 

I lived with her at the time (I was 27) just her and me, we were like great friends but also had our own lives and friends. When I woke up the next day she was on top of a ladder painting the bathroom the same colour pink as this rose, it sound hideous but it looked incredible. She said that although she had been told that she only had so long left she was going to live it to the most and enjoy as much of her life and family as possible......she survived TWICE the expected time.

A true inspiration in my life, I miss her EVERY day.

This rose is Gertrude Jekyll, normally on the anniversary of my mum's passing the climbing rose 'Albertine' (her favourite) is in bloom, unfortunately I pruned the hell out of it in March so it hasn't bloomed yet....she would have loved this rose though as much as I do.

X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.