One Day Like This...

By LicentiousLib

Scaring Scaffolders

I went in late to the Botanics today.

I'm getting roughcasting done, and appropriate scaffolding erected. Now no disrespect intended, but scaffolders aren't the MOST nature friendly individuals.

There was absolutely no way I was going anywhere until I'd spoken to them.

"Now, you're not putting scaffolding poles in my pond - right! ....

How deep is it? (He asked).
I just growled and said - that's irrelevant! . That pond had been there for nearly 20 years and if you put a bloody great pole in it and damage it, I will come looking for you. And you won't like the outcome.

It's just a little pond, but it's home to frogs and lots of newts. I like it (even though it does need the surface pondweed fished out a bit)

So off I trot, spend the day in the glasshouse, deadheading Tulbaghia.
Went home, full of trepidation (not to mention smelling of garlic and onions) and yay! The pond survives.

The scaffolding is up, with no visible damage (so far....)
X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.