xpandinghorizon

By xpandinghorizon

Catch of the Day

Having not photographed any dolphins for the last few days I couldn't resist calling in at Chanonry Point on my way home to spend a little while watching and taking a few more photos! The wind was pretty ferocious whipping up the waves and made holding the camera still pretty tricky and the dolphins were feeding but not particularly active. Suddenly I saw this dolphin taking off and as I looked through the camera I remember thinking (in that split second whilst framing the image pressing the button etc.) either that dolphin has 4 flippers or there are fish hanging out of its mouth! I resisted looking at the screen afterwards, I work on the basis that either I have got the shot or I haven't but if I am looking at the screen not the scene I might miss the next one. However back at the car I couldn't resist any longer and then saw it was actually one massive fish sideways. Up until this shot I had only seen the dolphins with the fish aligned head to tail, not sideways so that was interesting, but its the size of the fish combined with the dolphin exiting the water that made this image my 'catch of the day'!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.