madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

'Er indoors!

Day spent with Friend today - didn't start well as I locked myself out of the house whilst putting something in bin! Usually I put the catch on to stop it but today I didn't, and to make it worse I did think of doing so but thought I'm simply lifting and dropping the bin lid - I don't need to! Luckily my back door was open, so popped next door to borrow my neighbours  ladder - Portly Lucy thought it was time for her walk! So we went round the back lane, me hopping over the stones as if walking on hot coals as I had no shoes on! Portlys owner passed the ;ladder over the top of his gate, for his door into the back lane was blocked as mine was! I returned Lucy to the front and went back to climb the ladder. I had told Owner to stay inside as he is none too steady on his feet and I thought both of us would end up in A&E if he held the ladder! But the lane is on a slope, so ran up the back lane to Friends to get Nellie of the Woods to help me! She had done the overnight with Friend and they were just having breakfast!
By the time we got back to mine owner was in the backlane looking non-plussed as to where I was! Much hilarity as I climbed up the ladder and tried to swing my leg over, having first moved the climbing rose that I had carefully placed along the fence the previous day so that I got the full benefits of the flowers!  -I swung it over but was a foot off reaching the nesting box top of the coop! Down I came, collapsed and turned the ladder and tried again. This time first leg over and down, but no leeway to get my foot over the top of the fence - much maneuvering whilst owner told me to watch out for the chickens - I told him "Bugger the chickens it's my neck I'm worried about!" He was well shocked at my language! Once second leg over then had to duck under string of solar fairy lights before jumping to the ground! Found chickens in kitchen looking slightly alarmed!
This was not a good start to the day! Second bit of bad luck was for Vegan Jo - she had had to make an emergency dental appointment due to a bad tooth - which she then had to have taken out as infection had spread to the bone!!! So it was me with Friend all day! She is now sleeping as I type! I spent much of the day tidying her living space - boxes of pills, letters, Hospital correspondence, papers, books, DVD's, rugs, pens, bags,chair acting as a sofa side table, coal scuttle, hoover and airer in full view. It was not  aesthetically pleasing  surroundings for someone confined to that room feeling lousy. I know it made me feel frustrated and slovenly looking at my mess everywhere when I was under the weather and tidying up too much effort! I love tidying and became positively demonic and obsessed! Even did her pinboard which had things dated from 2013 on the lower levels of things pinned to it! When her next door neighbour popped in she said how much nicer it all looked and how she was so pleased the coal scuttle had been moved!! She has been getting Friend up in the mornings, giving her drinks, tablets, breakfast and doing her laundry - but she did not want to presume to tidy up! No such scruples on my part!!!! I felt like a house proud 1950's wife " I'm so pleased someone recognises the improvement and my effort"!!!!!
I did get out for an hour after lunch whilst she slept to walk Portly and take photographs of coop members washing once more, but after seeing Freespirals glorious washing line blip decided against it! So the tealight bottles on Friends window sill it is as my blip!
Apart from being woken to eat and drink and take her tablets, Friend has slept - but apart from faint inducing hot flushes she has felt ok! So I may be able to go home and sleep before returning in the morning to wake her and do as today until Colourful Mai comes and then  Caring Counsellor (CC)friend takes the late afternoon slot! I may get time in between to get my legumes in on the plot! But as I had to take a pink migraleve tablet today, maybe I will just rest!!! Just too much drama today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.