Optic Nerve

By BillFroog

Taking care of Bees Nest (business? Oh bee-hive!)

The incongruity of one who uses no animal products - including that from insects - to be creating the exploitative environment, to be used to incarcerate and abuse our mild-mannered hive-mind fellow creatures. OK - I am culpable - but I was swayed by the local tradition of built in hives in every Kathe Kuhne house - and in these days of CCD and worldwide bee disappearances I felt for the sake of orchard pollination and biodiverse organic habitat preservation, it was worth it.
A small offering of sugar is supposed to bring good luck (well - and pragmatically, bees obviously) - the finishing detail.
So - boring blip - but that's just how it bee. Just for the record - I think I used a 1/2" drill for the entry hole - the locals advising me, that any larger and the bees might feel the cold at our 2,300m altitude. There is a step (dance podium in my head) created by the auger which helped minimise the depth I had to hand cut with a bare drill bit. (No drill in our possession has a chuck large enough!) When the animals suffer, so do we...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.