Under the slab

I like to think I am on nature's side, but today I contributed to habitat destruction and to a mass evacuation of ants from underneath the slabs of our 'old' driveway.
This is one of those times when I wish I had a 'better' camera. as my photos of the ants scurrying to save their cocoons or whatever these rice like particles are, and their even smaller wee white eggs was a sight to behold. The whole colony was mobilised to move everything down underground and was amazing to watch.
Unfortunately. I don't know if their evacuation will save them when the landscapers come tomorrow. And of course there probably even more under the other slabs. However, I am still more concerned about the blackbird and her nest  - just bad timing overall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.