Large Red damselfly

After a fantastic night last night at the concert where the band put on their best concert performance ever, I had a lazy morning while Mr H took the percussion back to the bandroom so he can have his van back for work tomorrow. As it was such a sunny, though not overly warm with the wind chill, I decided to tidy the pond up a bit, as it has a lot of duck weed in it - never had the problem before. Think it will be a battle this year to keep it under control. However, whilst I was out there a damsel fly landed on my hand. Great joy and excitement, and great annoyance that my camera was inside !  However I enjoyed the moment  - a good few minutes - and then when it flew off went for the camera. I then had great fun watching it and capturing it. I was in the zone and lost a good 45 minutes!  I now know it is a Pyrrhosoma nymphula, or large Red Damselfly, and like all of them was absolutely beautiful.

I then spent some time doing more duckweed removal, frightened the life out of my self when a tadpole wriggled in my hand, and then was also surprised when a frog popped its head out of the water.

A great day all round. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.