Sydney

By Sydney

Complicata

This is another rose I wish I could take but it's bigger than my car at this point. It has been such an obliging plant over the years, baking next to the asphalt driveway, on a clay slope that sees only oily street runoff during the rainy seasons and drought during the summer. And still it blooms, unceasingly cheerful, hips in the fall, lovely burnt orange pink leaves drop and blanket it's feet. A real treasure and I will miss it. Every spring it is covered in baby ladybugs looking like tiny alligators, crawling up and down the blackspotted leaves which is, of course, my fault as the home I gave is uninspired to say the least. None of my friends wish to claim it so I fear it will go the way of landscape mulch come October, joining the trees and the hedges.
This is hard. I must stop anthropomorphizing my plants, I keep thinking they hear their time ticking away!
Ricky, my neighbor's property manager, has scheduled his friends to help me move on the 20th. Should be quite the zoo :) I keep thinking that they will need more than three of them to move the 8' x 8' pine housemaids cupboard but they say no (and flex their muscles) so I must believe them.
Wish us luck! We'll need it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.