Life is a Minestrone !!

By bererunner

Harry Ramsden's Bournemouth.

The business was started by Harry Ramsden  in 1928 in a wooden hut in White Cross, Guiseley, West Yorkshire. Three years later he moved into a new premises, complete with fitted carpets, oak panelled walls and chandeliers. The original hut still stands on the same site adjacent to the main restaurant, which once held the Guinness World Record for the largest fish and chip shop in the world, seating 250 people, serving nearly a million customers a year.
I've only ever had fish and chip once from this particular branch of Harry Ramsden's, and I must confess  I wasn't overly impressed. I think we've all had fish and chips once in our lives that stands out in our memories as being the best we've ever had. My stand out portion of fish and chips was from a shop on the quay side in Whitby, North Yorkshire. That was way back when I did actually live in the North East of England, more years ago than I care to remember. This weekend just gone I did actually have fish and chips on The Lightship here in Gosport, it was very nice indeed, but at £13-95, I thought it was overpriced, but hey we were sat outside on the deck in the sunshine. Good food, excellent pint, great company, what more could you want.

j.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.