A year on

When I logged onto fb this morning, it told me that a year ago today I posted this blip, marking 100 days to go before the referendum in Scotland on independence.  

So much has happened since then and whilst my No-voting friends insist on reminding me they won the day, I'm not so sure.  All of the political parties who supported the Yes side have had skyrocketing membership increases - most notably the SNP is now the third largest party by membership in the entire UK (not just Scotland).  The No-voting parties have recently been nearly eliminated in Scotland in the UK general election.  The once mighty Labour party now has only one MP from Scotland and the SNP MPs are making themselves known in Westminster.  

Notably, a year ago there was only one newspaper who supported the Yes side.  Now there is The National, accompanied by Common Space and a strengthened Bella Caledonia.  

Many other things have changed since then.  



I'm feeling a bit under the weather so please excuse me for not replying to your comments.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.