Paolozzi in the pulpit

What would Paolozzi have said?
 
I was somewhat bemused to find a flyer for my book, 
Paolozzi Revealed stuck on the pulpit in our local church.
 
Well, there happens to be a good, if convoluted, explanation.
 
A group of us known as Font of Art artists exhibit in St Saviours church as part of Forth Valley Open Studios.  Traditionally, I have used the pulpit to show video but this year I ran out of time what with other commitments.
 
 
So I was somewhat intrigued to go into the church this afternoon to look at the current exhibition and find a flyer for my book attached to the pulpit.
It’s as if I am still there ….in spirit at least.
 
The official book launch takes place next week on June 19 and it is being hosted by &Collective, a new contemporary art gallery in Bridge of Allan.
 
Today they sent out invitations and now I am adding my own personal list. It’s a bit like going through your Christmas card address book: who get an invite and who doesn’t.
 
Gone are the days of glitzy publishing launches unless you are a very well known and established writer, and I am not.
 
In this new era of niche publishing and print on demand a lot of work is now left to the writer and that includes organising a launch.
 
So I am more than grateful for the  &Collective gallery offering to do this for me.
 
 
   
Paolozzi Reviealed, by Ann Shaw published by Kennedy & Boyd, price £12.99 is available on Amazon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.