Criminology #academicprisons

Today I dragged my cold up the motorway to the Cambridge University Institute of Criminology for an academic symposium. Big hitters from the world of criminology were there; professors from three continents, more doctors than you'd find in the staff canteen at the local hospital and also some "service users" - people who have spent time in prison.

We heard about the common problems faced by those working in prison education in the US and Australia and saw some interesting research work and projects being undertaken by different universities and practitioners. We chatted over coffee and I met people I've only previously known on Twitter.

I then walked back to the Park & Ride, it's about 2 miles, but my mobile died so I probably missed loads of interesting stuff because I had lost the satnav. Home in time for Springwatch but plans to get on with the marking disappeared because I fell asleep - woken up to send this and then head to bed.

A tremendous day and probably what I needed to nudge me back towards getting back in the game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.