New Year, New Life

By jenpedler

From the 10th floor, 55 Broadway

Rare chance for a visit before London Underground move out and it's converted into flats (or probably apartments since 'flat' seems such a common term these days).
It's a fabulous building and G1 listed which at least puts constraints on its future development. I talk about it on my Victoria walk coming up again in two weeks. Designed by Charles Holden who also designed Senate House and having looked at, and even for a period worked in, that building for many years I can certainly see the similarities. He also designed stations for the Northern Line extension to Morden and the iconic stations on the northern part of the Piccadilly Line. A portfolio of glorious buildings!
Before the talk, on the 10th floor, we had a chance to enjoy the views from the terraces. The third aerial view I have had over Victoria in recent weeks - following my recent trip up the Cathedral tower and the CWGLA meeting up at the top of Westminster City Hall last week.
First part of the talk was a potted history of London Underground and the building - brought back memories of the LT Museum exam I did for my Westminster Guiding course. The second part was an overview of development plans for the building. On the whole that felt positive, although I didn't really understand the concept of the 10th floor 'pavilions' (which apparently won't be noticeable).  In any case, there's no general public access to most of the building at the moment.  The scheme does include affordable housing - along Petty France in the building currently known as the 'Wing over the Station'. But whether any regular people will be able to afford it is debatable. As far as I know the concept of an 'affordable' rent is 80% of average market rent and I wouldn't like to imagine what rent you might expect to pay in that area...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.