Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Long-tailed Blue

Probably my favourite of the week in Corfu, and another new species for me, the Long-tailed Blue. This was one of several that were zipping about the cliff-top on my early morning walk. Moments later, a Mallow Skipper was another lifetime first. After that much excitement there was little for it but retire to the pool until lunchtime.

After lunch I went to explore the start of a new trail that had been established at the other end of the resort. This took me into a fine meadow just behind the beach front restaurants where there were more Clouded Yellows, Small Whites, Common Blues, Small Coppers and a brief glimpse of an unidentified fritillary. Beyond the meadow the trail headed into a wooded area next to a small river: cue the first Speckled Woods and dragonflies of the week. A little further along some Lulworth Skippers were a nice surprise, and another first for me.  I scanned the river banks for terrapins and frogs but other than hearing a couple of loud plops in the water, no joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.