Hard Work

My big adventure today was to meet two friends for a sketch outing--we went to Whole Foods and sat at an indoor table for two hours and drew, something I never would have done on my own. I couldn't believe we were really going to go into the grocery store to stand around and draw. Mortiified at taking up space in the aisles, I desperately wished for a Cloak of Invisibility, but no one seemed to care that we were there. Well, we did order sandwiches.

At first I found the place visually confusing--too many little things on the display raxcks, and nowhere to rest my eyes. I finally settled on sketching people as they ordered drinks or ate lunch--a challenge, because of course they were fast eaters. 

It was interesting to see what the others chose to do: J painted a selection of shopping bags, and S did a detailed watercolor of a display of beach toys. It was a lesson in just drawing what's in front of you, as opposed to spending hours looking for the perfect set-up. I had a good time and want to keep drawing, but I'm still a bit far from sitting alone in a place like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.