Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Wide Angle Wednesday - Modern

Helped out at school this morning and then decided to fill the freezer with chicken soup which saw me in the kitchen for much of the afternoon.

Apart from my laptop and phone, my kitchen is probably the most modern part of my house - comparatively modern that is, as it was remodeled 14 years ago.

When I was growing up, the kitchen was the place the family gathered - with a table in the centre and a sideboard against the wall. With no refrigerator, meat and perishables were kept in an outdoor safe and cooking was done on a coal burning range. Dishes were washed in a sink  with suds made by placing a cake of sunlight soap in a metal shaker and agitating it in the water. The range had a wet back so there was always hot water - as long as the fire was going. The washing was done in a separate room with a copper and a mangle to pass the wet clothes through before hanging outside to dry.

Yes, I have a modern kitchen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.