a return

By winterwren

fawn

walking in the fog through a field today, i came close to stepping on this little fawn.  i pulled up short in surprise. no bigger than a large house cat, buried in the grasses, the fawn remained still.  his eyes were open and i could see him breathing.  one of those moments when my mind went blank.  i had no idea what to do.  then i remembered….  my camera hung around my neck.  i took a few pictures and called my family.  the fawn still did not move.  within a few minutes, my husband and son arrived.  the three of us stood around this little fawn for a while, not sure what would happen next.  my son was taking pictures when suddenly the fawn sprang to his feet and with a bit of a wobble, bounced off into the fog.  

an afternoon to remember.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.