Kereru

This afternoon I had to go up to Nelson for a catch up with my dentist.  I am now $1,000 poorer but my root canal is completed.  And of course I've been dribbling all the way home - well I've felt like I was as the anesthetic wore off.

On the way there I stopped in at the honey place at Korere to pick up a jar of honey for him (he was saying on my last visit that he likes their brand).  As I got out of the car I noticed this kereru feeding off the new shoots in the kowhai tree.  

Now I know that many people aren't fussed on pigeons, but these are not the urban rats you find in cities.  These are three times the size; huge fat woodpigeons.  They are beautiful.

I like the way he's feeding on the green shoots of the native tree with the autumn colour of the introduced tree behind him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.