BRIANW

By BRIANW

Smiling Through The Downpour, Oxford Street

The rain was particularly heavy when I went out take photographs today, so I had to balance my umbrella in one hand and my camera in the other. The light was terrible so I didn't think I would get a shot but then suddenly this girl and her friend hoved into view and she looked straight into the lens and smiled - her whole face lit up and it made me realise how powerful a natural smile is. It's amazing how someone smiling back at you can lift your whole mood - it cheered my spirits and I was so glad I managed to capture it.
It makes me think about my own response to people. I really think it's worth trying to smile at people, even when you are in a foul mood or feeling depressed about something or life in general. When a smile is reciprocated it really can help to lift your day, even if it's only for a few seconds, it can brighten the darkest of skies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.