Hiccup in Arrrangements

It's hard to know where to start on today's travails. Most of it was my fault although I can't be blamed for the wind or the temperature , both of which have produced a record number of times the word ' cold' has been uttered in a day by His Lordship, who seems to be suffering excessively and complaining as a result.

No, I came unstuck by booking a certain hotel in Tarbert via the Internet Late Rooms Booking. Now I did know there were at least two Tarberts in Scotland, but never for a minute realised that the hotel I booked was in Tarbert, Loch Fyne; at least I didn't know until we fetched up in Tarbert, Harris this afternoon to discover there was no hotel of that name in the village.

Apparently this mistake is such a common occurrence that the Information office deals with several people like me every month. More bad news followed when the cancellation policy required us to pay for one night's accommodation at the Loch Fyne hotel. His Lordship is not a happy chappy, and neither am I, as now he has more grounds for complaint

I imagine when Wildwood reads this, she will be hooting with laughter, because I have been caught out before with the Uigs in Skye and their disparate distances from our destination of 'The Three Chimneys' restaurant.

In a happier time we had a splendid meal last night in Stornoway at the Digby Chick restaurant and so splendid was the fine wine that HL departed without his hat and never complained once on the way home about the cold.

My blip is of a 3 D mural on the gable end of a shop in Stornoway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.