Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Wings of Leather

I need help with an ID on this bug.  It kind of looks like a bee but its wings are so leathery looking.  He was about 2 cm long.  I've never seen one like this before.  But then, I only started really looking at bugs since I started seeing them on Blip and photographing them.
The extra is another screen shot of the osprey family.  It's so interesting that they are in 3 different stages of development based on their hatch dates.  #1 looks so much darker and larger.  Today #1 is 11 days old, #2 is 10, and #3 is 7 days old.  They are changing and growing every day.  :-)

Thanks to Marlieske for her help with the ID.  She suggested that it looks like a Bombylius Major and, after looking at pictures on line, I have to agree.  Thanks, M!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.