East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

River mouth

This is where the Clarence flows into the Pacific between the North and South Breakwall and very close to where Matthew Flinders landed in 1799.
It didn't occur to Flinders that just beyond the shoals and bush to the west lay the big river he was trying to find. His report stated:
"This bay not appearing to deserve more than a superficial examination. I did not think it worthwhile to consumer my time. I must acknowledge myself to have been disappointed in not being able to penetrate into the interior of NSW by any opening examined on this expedition; but however mortifying the conviction may be, it is now ascertained that no river of any importance intersects the east coast between the 24th and 29th degrees of south latitude".
It's been a grey day here today but now that I'm home from my walk the sun has come out!!
The extra photo is the reverse view to the main photo, looking west up river.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.