CowgirlCarol

By CowgirlCarol

Lackey Moth Caterpillar

I've always been fond of caterpillars and two years ago I managed to follow the life cycle of the Emperor moth from rescuing eggs on the doorstep,hatching into minute caterpillars,growing on into huge ones on a constant diet of brambles and blackthorn leaves. They then pupated into impressively spun cocoons which overwintered in an old fishtank in my conservatory and subsequently hatched into magnificent moths the following spring.It was very interesting to watch their progress altho' when they then mated and laid eggs in numerous inconspicuous places I had to retrieve the eggs and tape them to trees in the garden for the cycle to begin again.
I'll leave this one up to it's own devices !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.