Leiflife

By Leiflife

The Power of Hunger

This baby raccoon is so hungry for her evening meal and her mother's warm body that her efforts to get her attention had five concerned and adoring humans standing below the hollow tree that was her first home on earth. Naturally, I made an effort to photograph her every time she poked little newborn head out of the jagged opening. Eyes still closed, she made her little chirring sounds and reached with those tiny human looking hands toward the sounds we made. How could she know we were not her fat and furry mama...source of warm milk and comfort... coming to her rescue?

We did not stay long, fearing we might be keeping mama at bay...and tempting her little one to reach too far and fall. But the love and attention for this little creature, shared with family members as the evening light was fading, went home with me: a softening of heart for my present circumstances and environment. Differences dissolve when such a happening occurs; one's sense of isolation in the midst recedes for a little while.

I have been away from blip for a few days, feeling my own ever present hunger for something I cannot name, allowing my own reactions to flow into drawing and dancing. As my spiritual belly churns with hunger for whatever might fill the seeming emptiness, My mother-mind is guiding the artist child to expression. I am encouraged to free myself of the adult compulsion to repress the hunger and be responsible. At least for a little while... Compassion wills it so...and I obey, understanding as a hungry baby (human or otherwise) instinctively understands, that expressing with all one's power to express...is satisfying in and of itself.

Extra photo: that amazing little hand...  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.