Joe's Blips

By joesblips

Fern Cyanotype

I love experimenting and there is no better way for a photographer to experiment than to go back to the roots of photography and play around with processes which have long since been superseded but which exude their own particular charm.
One of these is the cyanotype which was the original of the blueprint which became beloved of every engineer and architect in the world until very recently when computers took over.
On the left : a sheet of cardboard, a sheet of cyanotype paper, a piece of fern and a sheet of glass to hold the whole lot reasonably flat. This assembly was left out in full sunlight for 5 minutes and "developed" in running water for about the same time again.
On the right : The resultant cyanotype print, dried and ready to frame. This was the first time I had tried this particular paper and I'm not entirely happy with it. I made exposures of 5, 10 and 15 minutes and none of the prints is as good as I had made last time I tried it. The only variable was the paper. The shadow areas (i.e. the shape of the fern) isn't quite as clear a white as I expected. Just a little too much blue in them for my personal taste.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.