No 176: Long-eared Owl

Around this time last year, I was given a tip-off about the whereabouts of some Long-eared Owls, not too far away from home, but I failed to see them. I though I'd try again tonight, as I was reminded about them. As I arrived, I could hear the youngsters calling and then saw one fly out of a nearby tree. I was really pleased to see a second bird sitting in the same tree, and managed to get one shot in before it  too flew away. I caught one or two more glimpses of them, but none as clear. Given my record on owl shots, I'm pleased with this, although in an ideal world, I would have liked it a bit sharper. 
Otherwise my blip today would have been a tree as we went on the second workshop on Ghost Woodlands. It was most enjoyable and the weather, for once was great for the field visit part of the event. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.