Ivette's Journal

By DarPerChew

Mockingbird

This morning when I took the dogs out to do their business, we found a baby mockingbird in our yard. I called my brother to take a look at it, but then he brought it inside, and I couldn't resist taking a picture of it.
We took it back outside and placed it back in the same spot where we had found it. After some minutes we noticed the mom making a lot of noise. The baby bird started hopping towards the street so we grabbed it and returned it to the same spot again. Then it started hopping towards the neighbors' house and some stray cats and their dog were out there, so we grabbed it again, but this time put him in a safer place away from the streets and other animals. We went inside but I kept an eye on it through our window and that's when I noticed there was another baby bird! but this one was perched in a tree. So we went back outside, grabbed the baby, and with the help of a ladder my brother put it next to the other baby. 

I then took a nap since I hadn't slept all night. When I woke up my sister had come to visit and my nephew was sleeping next to me. I wasn't going to get up, but then my cell phone started ringing. It was an unknown number from Missouri, so I didn't answer. They left a voicemail and it turned out to be a person calling for the job I had applied for yesterday. I didn't call back right away since I have a thing (social anxiety?) about talking to strangers, especially on the phone, so I had to work up to it first. So I went to the living room, my nephew woke up and then they left for his swimming lesson. I called back to the job and answered some questions, they said they would call back if I got the job. I feel I'm probably not going to get it since I acted shy (I really need to work on this problem!)  

Later in the afternoon I checked on the baby birds and they were still on the tree :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.