Alnwick Gardens

My wife and I enjoy stopping off at Alnwick Gardens anytime we are driving back from down south. On this occasion I had my tripod with me and thought I would be able to do something creative with the water sculptures in the Serpentine Garden. Unfortunately it was such a bright sunny day that even racking down the ISO to 50ASA the slowest shutter speed I could get was 1/25th of a second so there were limits to what I could achieve. Next time I will also have to remember to take my neutrals density filters. The sculpture I have featured takes about twenty minutes in between each water cascade. As I had arrived early and had set up with my tripod, a real crowd built up thinking that this water sculpture must be something really special but I like the moment when the crowd dispersed and I was left with these two children still looking on with amazement. The real photo of the day was lost when one of the children had earlier threatened to walk right under the cascade. Now that would have been worth photographing but their mother's quick intervention saved her getting a soaking !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.