Close friend of Paolozzi

I had a surprise visitor this afternoon when this glamorous woman rolled into our drive in her open top silver sports car.
 
It was Liz Ogilvie, ex partner of Robin Spencer, Paolozzi’s official biographer.
 
We had met some time ago in a Life Drawing class though neither of us were aware at the time of our shared  mutual Paolozzi connection.
 
While I only knew Paolozzi for ten days Liz had over twenty years close friendship with him.
 
Liz told me lots of stories about the great sculptor and his love of collecting the debris and rubbish in our society and yes she admitted he was a difficult man and at first she had been afraid of him. He did in fact sacrifice his family for his art.
 
She said that after years of dealing with Paolozzi she knew she how to deal with all men.
 
Liz is herself an artist and after looking at my work- on display for Open Studios- she surprised me by saying that she could see Paolozzi’s influence.
 
Later, as she drove away I thought, yes Paolozzi would  approve.
   
He loved pretty women and all things mechanical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.