86

Following on from yesterday's blip and mention of motor racing this evening I found myself at Brands Hatch. Rowan was running her first 10k so I went along to support her. Even though they were running in foreign money it seemed a long way - twice round the GP circuit and once around the Indie circuit - and quite hilly. It was hot and humid and as the race started the rain did too but I hung on in the wet for the first lap to wave Rowan through - then back to the car for a coat before she finished the second lap. I've been to Brands before, I've even driven a racing car round it, but it was still special standing by the pit wall on the start/finish straight at such an iconic venue. And my daughter was there, running round the track, so what's not to enjoy? This shot is at the end of the first lap - slightly over 2.5 miles because they shifted the start back from the finish line (the GP circuit is just shy of 2.5 miles as every fule no).

If anyone wants to chuck a couple of quid towards The Heart of Kent Hospice, the charity Rowan and The Chequettes were running for, sponsorship is still open.................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.