Orkenee

On we did go, kiddiewinkles, up past the sea stacks at Duncansby under blue skies, across the Pentland Firth, then both sails up as squalls came in and the sky became overcast, through Hoxa Sound and into Scapa Flow. What thrills - we were called up on VHF as we approached a dive boat -whoah- and then later we listened in to the emergency channel as a calf had got into difficulties in the water off Shapinsay. It had a happy ending. For the moment.
So... Stromness.. a most lovely wee place. We went to the museum, the arty place, a coffee place, and the co-op of course. And after a shower, I managed to sneak off on my tod for a sit in a bar with a newspaper.
And who did I meet down at the pontoon but old Shandonites, and die-hard leftie yachties*, D & J who I hadn't seen for a few years despite receiving their Christmas round-robin. What good blethers we did have. Whither Labour? Whither Scotland, indeed. They were amazed when I produced my Bluetooth selfie stick and captured the moment. I'm a danger to myself, so I am. And to others. But sadly, no meeting up with Poppy, which I'd hoped for when this trip was mooted away back last autumn. I blame the cap'n.
So then it was out for beers, and a wee whisky. We're in high spirits. The northerly winds suggest we're in for a couple of days of proper sailing in big seas. Hebrides, here we come.


*ridiculous, I know...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.