NeilBarr

By NeilBarr

Buachaille Etive Mòr

I'd been waiting for the right weather conditions for a while - nice and dry/calm for 2 days in a row. The plan was to climb Beinn a'Chrulaiste and camp at the top to get both dusk and sunrise shots. After feeling the weight of all the gear, I thought it best to camp at the base and climb it twice with just the camera gear.

The evening had a completely clear sky - not great for photos, but nice for enjoying the warm sun. Back at base (with just 2 hours until I needed to head back up again) I set the alarm for 2.30am. When I saw the sky was still clear, I decided to call off the climb. When I stuck my head out the tent at 3.30am, I saw the mist, hurriedly grabbed my gear and huffed and puffed my way back to the top again hoping I didn't miss the sunrise.


This shot was actually taken about 3 hours later. It's not my favourite, but it seems to be the one that most others prefer. I've included some other shots from the shoot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.