SueScape

By SueScape

After the Storm.....

Terrific storm last night bringing much needed water for the garden. Who would have believed  we'd have such a sunny afternoon, calling out wind surfers, bathers and buckets and spaders down at Pagham.

I have to say that the news about Alma has rather upset me and as usual when searching for words to fit my mood, I turn to George Mackay Brown. The first verse plus one other of his old work The Storm could be written for Sussex as well as Orkney. Many years ago I was lucky enough to find a rare copy of this collection, so I can repeat it for you.

What blinding storm there was! How it
Flashed with a leap and a lance of nails,
Lurching O Suddenly
Over the lambing hills.

Next morning in tranced sunshine
The corn lay squashed on every hill;
Tang and tern were strewn
Among highest pastures.

GMB
from The Storm 1954

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.