Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

What a day!

Well, what an awful day this is. It started raining at about 9.00 this morning and has been coming down in straight lines ever since; that sort of rain that doesn't seem heavy but soon soaks you to the skin if you stay out in it. I felt sorry for Blippers Nicoiseannie and Cathyben17 who I know were photographing a wedding today, but of course also for the happy couple, who will have had a very wet day.

I ventured out to the supermarket this morning but was not too inclined to go anywhere else, so thought I would have to rely on the birds for my Blip. They were having none of it. I put some bread out but they clearly saw me lurking inside the kitchen with my camera so thought better of coming down to pose. Eventually this brave soul came down and I got a few fairly mundane shots of him with a bit of bread in his beak, but I quite liked this one even though I wasn't able to get all of him in; he was trying to pick up some bread without actually landing!

Yesterday we had a young Jackdaw in the garden who had clearly fledged too early, although Mum was keeping an eye on him and bringing him food. He was able to fly but had that look as though he wasn't quite the full shilling. I've not seen him today - I hope he made it through the night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.