Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

The Book Thief

“Books fall open, you fall in” David McCord
 
“Libraries gave us power” Manic Street Preachers
 
If you get one chance to read a book this summer make it The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, it’s a moving, haunting and thought provoking read.  As the open line of the blip says I fell into this book and didn’t stop.
 
As the book will explain words can have such power and affect on people, place that power in the wrong hands/voice and the innocent can suffer. 
 
I stole (bought) more books yesterday and having a day of reading.  I don’t want to go out after yesterday.
 
 
   
My thoughts are with my friends Anne and Richard, who lost their dog Clarence yesterday, he was over 18 years old.  I know that pain, and you will grieve and it will be in your time, no one else’s.   But remember the good times for they will never leave you, and he will always be with you.  How do I know?  Because it’s been years since I lost my dog, my best friend, and I think about her every day, she still makes me smile, she still makes me cry and she still makes me laugh.  The unconditional love of a dog is a very special thing.  Stay strong my friends!

I should have done the Velothon Wales, but training has suffered and I've failed another challenge again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.