What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Coldplay - in the rain at Sunderland!

PLEASE VIEW LARGE!!!

Wow, wow, wow! I've seen Coldplay before, in an indoor arena, but this is the first time I've seen them at a stadium. Almost a disastrous day. Originally, only Gail & I were going, but at the weekend, Emma & her boyfriend, and Mike all decided they'd like to come as well, and we were able to get them seated tickets through Seatwave. By 3pm yesterday, despite many phone calls, the tickets still hadn't arrived. Only then (our third heated phone call with them) did they say "oh - you can pick up duplicate tickets from the Mariott in Sunderland!" A quick cross-country dash from Cumbria to Sunderland allowed us all to get there in time. Gail & I were on the pitch, and shortly after arriving at 6.30 the heavens opened, and the rain never stopped until after 11. Soaked, but happy, we arrived home at 3am.

The gig was simply amazing, our late arrival did mean we were further back on the pitch than I would have liked, but I did take th 18-200mm lens with the D3100 (big pockets!) everyone in the crowd was issued with a wristband that lit up - controlled from a central processor, which made the whole stadium sparkle. The spotlights and lasers picked up the rain and that added extra sparkle too. There were unsavoury moments, drunk fights, beer glasses (plastic) being flung about full of a liquid I simply don't want to think about!!! (I managed to stay clear of them) but overall, one of the best gigs I've ever been to. The support acts were a different matter though - we really could have been late and I wouldn't have mssed much.

I've uploaded a few more shots onto my Blipfolio too here, here and here.

As far as the June challenge goes - this is a musical passage, and the track was clocks (Thanks for the clue WildCardinal) - so it fits!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.