The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Nyonya & more tandoori

I went to lunch at a popular restaurant serving Nyonya food which is the cuisine from the Peranakan, descendants of Chinese immigrants using Malay influences in their cooking. I started with some tasty snacks called 'Pai Tee' which are little thin pastry top hats filled with some sweet shredded veg, egg, chilli sauce and topped with coriander. They look quite Mexican (see the extra photo) but didn't really taste that way. They're probably too sweet for some people but they were definitely delicious. 

I also had braised pork with a sauce that was incredibly similar to the stewed pork leg (khao kha moo) I had many times from the famous 'Cowboy Hat Lady' in Chiang Mai, Thailand. Except that this was not even close to being as good as the version in Chiang Mai, so I was disappointed. Finally I had 'sambal sotong' (spicy squid), a very well known Nyonya dish, which was pretty good but I wouldn't go out of my way to order it again.

I spent the afternoon walking around the streets of Melaka and going on a wild goose chase for a place serving a special cendol (the dessert soup I fell in love with in Penang in January) who had moved but failed to change the address on their website or listings.

Due to the big lunch I wasn't hungry until quite late so decided to go back to the great tandoori place from the night before. Here are the tandoor ovens and delicious chicken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.