Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Little Warrior

P-Hummie, guarding the yard from his perch in the garden.  Shortly after I snapped this with Big Daddy, the little guy came zooming up and hovered right in front of my face for about 30 seconds, almost too close for my eyes to focus on him.  It always feels very magical when that happens ... almost as if they are trying to communicate with me in some way.  Probably just reminding me to top off the feeders before I head to OR this week!  Anyway, that is why I chose this shot, to remind me of that feeling of being eye-to-eye with a creature that is no bigger than my thumb.

The party for our friends last night was great fun, but very loud and I am paying the price today with a heavy dose of fatigue.  I took a long nap this afternoon hoping it would snap me out of it, but I'm still feeling pretty drained.  However, I am very much looking forward to seeing my nephew, his wife and their new baby when they arrive shortly!  

Hubs is doing most of the dinner tonight - grilled veggies (including some local asparagus) and cedar-planked salmon with some fresh fruit for dessert.  That allows me to sip a glass of wine and just enjoy the time with family.  

In other news...this morning the little House Wren (who lost his mate at the beginning of the breeding season) had a new level of excitement in his song ... sure enough, there was a lady-wren on the scene!  He excitedly flew her around to inspect the various properties (three by my count) and while she went inside to inspect his craftsmanship, he sat on the roof and sang.  At one point, she threw a couple of his twigs out of the nest box - which, actually, is a good sign.  They've been courting all day and I am keeping fingers crossed that she stays.  The poor little guy has been singing for a mate for the last month!

I am hoping to sneak out for a look at the swallow's box this evening or tomorrow just to get a count on the number of eggs.  Catbirds are working on a second nest in the shrub that is right outside my office window - same place they nested last year.  Meanwhile, another pair is feeding babies in a nest outside our garage.  Busy times in the garden.

Thanks for stopping by...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.