Childhood Memories

I live in Edinburgh and many of my photos on Blipfoto are taken in this city, however, it isn't the city of my birth. I moved to Scotland in 1995 yet my first visit to the city was in 1974 when my Mum's mum (my grandma) was in her final months of living and so my Dad, brother and myself went on a couple of trips to keep us out of the house during this particularly difficult time.

My first memory of Edinburgh was getting off the train at Waverley Station and climbing the steep steps that lead from the station to Princes Street. The Waverley Steps are very much different now with a cover to prevent the travellers getting wet on the 'rare' days we get rain and there is now a powered escalator that helps weary travellers get to street level instead of the flight of steps that felt like a million miles when I was a five year old boy.

I guess it reminds us that as much as everything must change we also need to remember where we came from and react to whatever happens in a positive way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.