blipmeet bonus...

...especially when there is a Scottish lassie involved.

Not just one but two boxes of Tunnock's Tea Cakes! Melting mouthfuls of meringuey  gooeyness, chocolate and shortbread biscuit...yummmmo and it all begins with peeling away the square of red and silver foil and smoothing it flat.

I read that Tunnock's Tea Cakes and Caramel Wafers may well be the Scottish equivalent of Proust's madeleine moment.
In Proust's
'In Search of Lost Time,' the narrator recalls an episode from his childhood and tasting a madeleine dipped in tea.
“No sooner had the warm liquid mixed with the crumbs touched my palate than a shudder ran through me and I stopped, intent upon the extraordinary thing that was happening to me.”


Food and flavours are a wonderful memory jolter!...what are your memories?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.