Come Rain or Shine

By Ceb1977

The Distraction

I travelled down to Shropshire today to spend a week resting and relaxing in Ludlow as well as exploring the surrounding countryside. I arrived in bright and warm sunshine which, alas, was very shortlived despite this rather spectacular sunset promising greater things for the next day!

I stayed in a beautiful cottage near the Market Square and the Castle, which had fantastic views across the Shropshire Hills from both the lounge and the bedroom window and it was while I was enjoying the Jubilee Concert on TV that I kept getting distracted by the ever changing colours of the evening sky as the sun dipped its head. This shot is the third or fourth in a sequence I took over the evening but is also the one which is the least 'manipulated' by filter or other means and what I love about it is the texture of the clouds set against the fading purple sky, the layering from the foreground to the back and also, if you look closely enough in the centre of the photo, the bird making its last flight home!

This was the last I saw of both the view from the window and the sort of night skies you can expect in the summer months as, for the rest of the week, and still now as I am at home, it's pouring with rain and the sky is just a bland mass of grey nothingness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.